My week just flew by! Mostly because the beginning of the month is always a bit hectic at work, but also because things have just been good. I’ve been working on the blanket for J (another row and a half complete), binge-watching Orange is the New Black (I know – I can’t believe I haven’t gotten into it before now!), and getting back into the groove with writing. Plus, I’m proud of myself for sticking to my blogging schedule! It also helps that I have a week off from work this week! I really do love that paid vacation time.

After my post about crocheting clothes, I’ve been thinking a lot about what kinds of things I want to crochet, in general. What are the things that I want to do before my fingers get stiff with arthritis and my eyesight declines to the point where I can’t see my stitches? With these questions in mind, I’ve started a crochet bucket list. First on the list: thread painting. It’s something I first saw on Pinterest and then found in a book (called Crochet Master Class). Second on my list is a lace parasol – something else that I found on Pinterest (don’t you just love that place?).

screen-shot-2011-09-11-at-4-07-56-pm-500x457
Hearts and Roses Centerpiece, painted crochet, by Ferosa Harold

Aside from those first two things, and some clothing items, I want to design my own patterns. Things that other people haven’t done before. A lot of times, I don’t really use patterns. I just use stitches that I know, or can easily look up, and I make things with them. But I’d like to record some of those things, or make them more interesting, or just a little more polished. Soon I’m going to make a page with my bucket list, and I’ll keep you updated as to my progress on it.

I also started making a list of quick and easy projects to do on the weekends. It’s a little less exciting, and basically just to keep me motivated so that I don’t burn myself out on these big projects I’ve been working on. So far on that list I’ve got: face scrubbies, dish scrubbies, and my mini wall-hangings (some of which are not so quick and easy).

Yesterday my Honey and I decided to have a little shopping spree. It was mostly for some much needed work clothes, but we also went to the local craft store, where I loaded up on goodies to keep me occupied this week and longer. Some of the things I bought: yarn for the two baby blankets I need to make, extra paint brushes so I can do more than one round of painting in a week, a double sided crochet hook (still not totally sure what that’s for, but I think it has to do with Tunisian crochet), a new pallet knife, a larger pallet, and some netting to make a couple of new loofahs. Oh! I also got a free sewing kit because the craft store JUST added fabric (yay!) and they were giving them out to people who bought something from that department. Needless to say I will be much occupied this week, especially since I’ve got some writing goals set out for myself too.

How do you spend your vacation time? Do you have a bucket list? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time,

Emily

