Hello! As busy as I’ve been lately, I haven’t been able to do as much as I normally do, thanks to my friend: back pain. I’ve been trying to stay up and active, but sometimes my back just hurts too much and so I settle down into the least-painful position and watch Netflix while I crochet. Today I decided to get another task finished before I get down to business: a tutorial.

Now, I know there are a plethora of crochet tutorials out there. Maybe adding another voice is just going to add to the chaos, but I hope that it will help some people learn to do something new, or refresh their skills on something they’ve already learned but haven’t been practicing. And so here we are.

When I first learned to crochet, it took me a really long time to learn how to make a slip knot. I mean, a really  long time. Almost as long as it took me to learn to tell time. (Okay, not that long, but it still took a while.) I would have had an easier time if I’d had a series of pictures to help me learn, which is what I’m giving you!

20161024_161717

Start with medium (worsted) weight yarn and a hook that feels like a good size in your hand. I started with an H hook – it’s small enough that you can see the definition of stitches when you make them, but big enough that you can see what you are doing.

20161024_161741

Cross your yarn so the end is underneath the side connected to your ball.

20161024_161756

Pull the side connected to your ball underneath the circle you made.

20161024_161809

Pull the same strand up through the circle (you can use your fingers or the hook).

20161024_161823

Tug on the loop and the end, and the knot will snug down. Now, as you pull on the long side (the one attached to the ball, the loop will get smaller. Do this, and slip it onto your hook.

20161024_161858

As you crochet, you will find a comfortable way of holding your yarn. Looping it around one or two of your fingers will help you make even stitches in your work. Get ready to start crocheting!

20161024_161909

Maneuver your hook behind the yarn to be worked.

20161024_161918

Slowly spin your hook so that it hooks the yarn, and pull it down, all the way through the loop on the hook.

20161024_161930

Congratulations! You’ve made a chain! This is the foundation for almost every project (some projects start with the magic circle, others with “chainless” foundation row). Your chains will probably start out a little misshapen and in varied sizes, but as you practice and get a feel for you to hold your yarn and hook, the chains will even up. It is important to practice slip knots and chains, as they are the foundation of your crochet skill. In addition, chaining teaches you what feels right for you when crocheting, so that you don’t have to think about how you hold the yarn or the hook when you are learning the next stitches.

So for now, enjoy practicing, and I’ll have the next step for you soon!

Take care,

Emily

